Image for The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

by Stacy McAnulty

Synopsis

Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can't solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish , Rain Reign , and Counting by 7s. Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook ). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation? A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different. \"An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here \" --Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness

Add to Bookshelf

What's an Audio Format

Book Information

Copyright year 2018
ISBN-13 9781524767570
ISBN-10 1524767573
Class Copyright
Publisher Random House Children's Books
Subject Juvenile Fiction
File Size 96 MB
Number of Pages 304
Length of Recording 7
Language ENG
Shelf No. NB197
Grade Range 3-7
Ages 8-12
Lexile 530L